GOVERNOR’S

Governor Brownback today introduced a new, risky defined contribution style approach for the Kansas Public Employee Retirement System (KPERS).  A Texas financial firm, Dimensional Fund Advisors, told a House Pensions Committee that the state should put their faith in a new “managed” denfined contribution plan developed by their company.  What they did not say is that this “product” is unproven, as no other public employer in the United States is using this plan. They also falied to tell legislators just what the cost would be to implement this new plan and how it would impact employees and their retirement.

 

During the prolonged KPERS debate over the last year, one irrefutable fact has been made very clear: a defined contribution plan will cost Kansas taxpayers billions more in their hard earned money and put Kansas public sector workers at risk while only benefitting special interests.

 

It’s apparent the primary goal of this latest scheme is to direct money out of KPERs towards tax cuts for millionaires and corporations. The Governor’s own budget document confirms this: “from changing those non-vested members with less than five years of service to the new system the former statutory required KPERS payment would be used to eliminate the state individual income tax”.

 

As the Executive Director of KPERS testified early this session before the House Appropriations Committee, the cash balance plan, signed into law last year by the Governor, shores up the system and positions Kansas to extinguish the unfunded liability by 2033.  A defined contribution plan does nothing to address the unfunded liability issue.

 

Below are the members of the House Pensions Committee currently considering this new scheme (SB 117).  Contact them today and tell them the retirements of our police, fire fighters, teachers and other public sector employees should not be used as guinea pigs for this new “experiment”.

 

Chair

Rep. Steven Johnson, Assaria

Office Phone: 785 296-7696

Office Email:steven.johnson@house.ks.gov

Home Phone: 785-667-6601

Home Email:stevenj@hometelco.net

 

Vice Chair

Rep. Jim Howell, Wichita

Office Phone: 785 296-7665

Office Email:jim.howell@house.ks.gov

Home Phone: 316-788-4887

Home Email:JimHowell4Ks@gmail.com

 

Ranking Minority Member

Rep. Kathy Wolfe Moore, Kansas City

Office Phone: 785 296-7688

Office Email:kathy.wolfemoore@house.ks.gov

Home Phone: 913-314-0878

Home Email:kathy4rep36@gmail.com

 

Members

Rep. John Alcala, Topeka

Office Phone: 785 296-7371

Office Email:john.alcala@house.ks.gov

Home Phone: 785 640-7396

Home Email:jalcala3@cox.net

 

Rep. John Barker, Abilene

Office Phone: 785 296-7674

Office Email:john.barker@house.ks.gov

Home Phone: 785 479-7519

Home Email:johnbarker2012@yahoo.com

 

Rep. Daniel Hawkins, Wichita

Office Phone: 785 296-7631

Office Email:dan.hawkins@house.ks.gov

Home Phone: 316 371-1667

Home Email:danhawkinskansas@gmail.com

 

Rep. Kevin Jones, Wellsville

Office Phone: 785 296-6287

Office Email:kevin.jones@house.ks.gov

Home Phone: 316 259-9505

Home Email:kevinjonesforkansas@gmail.com

 

Rep. Jim Kelly, Independence

Office Phone: 785 296-6014

Office Email:jim.kelly@house.ks.gov

Home Phone: 620 332-3083

Home Email:jim.kelly@swbell.net

 

Rep. Charles Macheers, Shawnee

Office Phone: 785 296-7675

Office Email:charles.macheers@house.ks.gov

Home Phone: 913 396-9662

Home Email:charles@macheers.com

 

Rep. Richard Proehl, Parsons

Office Phone: 785 296-7639

Office Email:richard.proehl@house.ks.gov

Home Phone: 620-421-1804

Home Email:rproehl@labettebank.com

 

Rep. John Rubin, Shawnee

Office Phone: 785 296-7690

Office Email:john.rubin@house.ks.gov

Home Phone: 913 558-4967

Home Email:rubinshaw@aol.com

 

Rep. James Todd, Overland Park

Office Phone: 785 296-7695

Office Email:james.todd@house.ks.gov

Home Phone: 913 568-8738

Home Email:jameserictodd@gmail.com

 

Rep. Virgil Weigel, Topeka

Office Phone: 785 296-7366

Office Email:virgil.weigel@house.ks.gov

Home Phone: 785 267-2749

Home Email:virgiljweigel@hotmail.com